Sites For Sale

My boredom being at an all time high today, I decided to head over to DigitalPoint and read all the nonsensical BS that comes from there. My favourite is generally the sites forum. Although there is never anything good for sale (People go to flippa or sitedeal for that), its just nice to look at some peoples creations. But did i pick a bad day or what!

First problem, there is no actual sites for sale. There was absolutely 0 sites for sale that had any effort put into them. One person, took a database of a wordpress blog. Had sold the original blog, bought a new domain, imported the old blogs post, stuck a new theme on it, and then wallah up for sale. It doesnt end there, most of the sites for sale are lock stock templates with a shade of red put over it instead of the dull black. It defies believe that people are bidding on these…

Finally I saw one that took my fancy, a TV streaming site. I already own a fairly large (Let me rephrase that, MASSIVE) TV streaming site but i always like to see how others are doing things. Not to steal their ideas ofcourse :P !  My jaw dropped to the ground as soon as i saw his adsense earnings. He had a eCPM of over $4.50 and a CTR of over 5%. It is possible, but generally only if your content is crap and you have ads for africa all over the content so you can barely read anything. Considering i get considerably less on my own site, i thought i should probably take notes from him to see what im doing wrong. I view his site, and for christ sake! His ads are below the fold (Infact on the footer), blended in so you can barely see them, and the ads have absolutely nothing to do with his content. That my friends, is what you call bullshitting for a sale. There is absolutely no way he has a CTR over 5% with his ads like that, unless he gets his mates to click his ads everyday.

After seeing this i needed a fresh air, i scrolled the page and clicked on a random thread, hoping that it would be one of those awesome sites that you have to BIN right there and then. Gah, GPT site…. Not only that but he has a standard template, hasnt changed a thing. The site only has 3 members, prob him and his mum, and maybe another test account.  He is also using CPALead as the offers, which is a big no no as CPALead recently banned alot of GPT sites from their network. I guess its only a matter of time before he gets the flick aswell. O yeah, did i forget to mention, he is trying to sell this…

It is so sad, that the only people buying these sites, are complete idiots who dont have a clue about Internet Marketing/SEO/Anything. And they are falling for it everytime!  I am 100% sure, i could build a site, take the template. And keep reselling the site on theere with new domains over and over again and no one would notice. This isnt just isolated to DP either, ive seen adsense screenshots that defy believe on sites that have just a skyscraper banner on the side.

PROTIP: If your gonna fake it, dont fake it so much that is unbelievable.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Diigo
  • MisterWong
  • MySpace
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
This entry was posted in Internet Marketing And SEO, Personal/Thoughts/Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <pre lang="" line="" escaped="" highlight="">

CommentLuv badge